The law school participates in a number of national appellate moot court competitions. These competitions have recently included:

  • E. Earle Zehmer Workers' Compensation Competition
  • National Veterans Law Moot Court Competition
  • Andrews Kurth Moot Court National Competition
  • ABA National Appellate Advocacy Competition
  • Judge John R. Brown Admiralty Moot Court Competition
  • Mississippi Workers' Compensation Competition
  • Chief Judge Conrad B. Duberstein Bankruptcy Moot Court Competition
  • August A. Rendigs, Jr. National Products Liability Moot Court Competition
  • Frederick Douglass Moot Court Competition
  • Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition (trademarks and unfair competition)
  • NYC Bar & American College of Trial Lawyers National Moot Court Competition
  • Ruby R. Vale Interschool Corporate Moot Court Competition
  • Robert F. Wagner National Labor & Employment Law Moot Court Competition
  • Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition
  • Pace National Environmental Law Moot Court Competition
  • Elliot Cup Bankruptcy Moot Court Competition

Student teams, under the supervision of an attorney coach, research and prepare briefs and oral arguments for the competitions. Mississippi College teams have consistently distinguished themselves.

The law school also participates in arbitration, trial and pretrial practice competitions, which have included:

  • AAJ National Student Trial Advocacy Competition
  • ABA Labor and Employment Trial Advocacy Competition
  • Peter James Johnson National Civil Rights Trial Competition
  • Phi Alpha Delta Mock Trial Competition
  • Thurgood Marshall Mock Trial Competition
  • Stetson National Pretrial Advocacy Competition
  • ABA Law Student Division/National Arbitration Forum Arbitration Competition
  • ABA Representation in Mediation Competition
  • Texas Young Lawyers Association National Trial Competition
  • American University Washington College of Law's Capitol City Challenge Mock Trial Competition

The law school gratefully acknowledges the Mississippi Bankruptcy Competition for underwriting the Chief Judge Conrad Duberstein Bankruptcy Moot Court Competition and the law firm of Langston & Langston for underwriting the law school's intramural trial competition.