MC Law News

​MC Law Interim Dean, Faculty, and Alums receive "Legal Trailblazer Awards" from Metro Jackson Black Women Lawyers Association

The Metro Jackson Black Women Lawyers Association (MJBWLA) recently awarded the "2017 Top 10 Legal Trailblazer Awards" for achieving the highest standards of excellence in the Legal Profession. Receiving this high honor were MC Law Interim Dean Pat Bennett, Professor Angela Mae Kupenda, and alums Attorney Amanda Green Alexander, Mississippi Representative Debra Gibbs, Attorney Pelicia Hall, and Attorney Margarette Meeks.

Others receiving this top award were: Attorney Carshena Bailey, Attorney Constance Slaughter-Harvey, Judge Denise Owens, Judge Latrice Westbrook, and Judge Patricia Wise.

The MJBWLA celebrated with its "Ist Annual Little Black Dress Soirée" and also recognized Mississippi Bar Fall 2017 Admittees, including MC Law alums
Ashlea Brandon, Condrea Collins, Bethany Bridges, Suprena Hill, Briana Keeler, Ky'sha Lawson, Alexis Morris, and Jaleesa Rene' Seals.

​Coordinators of the event were ​the MJBWLA Committee Members: ​Attorney Monique Montgomery​, Attorney Dana Sims,​ and MC Law alums ​Judge Bridget Clayton and MC Law Supervising Attorney/Law Instructor Crystal Welch.